Biotech to IT: A journey full of questions

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

Hey there!
This is Bhaswati from India. I am a biotech graduate from the year 2020 and started my journey as a software engineer in 2021. Thanks to Indian MNCs!
I have majorly worked in Java and spring ecosystem. I am always excited about new technologies and though I face problems often learning them, however, there is no scarcity of enthusiasm from my end ever!

I am starting this blog to be consistent on my learning journey and also to overcome the fears I face because of my non-cs degree. On that note, I am going to share something that I always wanted to.

Often, I come across some obvious questions like why I am here rather than getting an M.Tech/MS or doing research work, when there is so much opportunity for biotech abroad and honestly, though there is nothing wrong it felt kind of odd when nobody asked that to an EE/ME/Civil/Production/Chemical engineering graduate even if they were standing right beside me. We all know though IT is not the only career option; it is the most available one with a decent salary for people coming from lower-income groups in India. And there are various reasons why people like me might take this path. Firstly, we often don't know what we want to do from the start. In my opinion, less exposure to different kinds of career choices is the major reason behind it. When I was a kid, I heard elders talk about being a doctor or an engineer but never about the specializations. There was a trend to mock IT engineers where I grew up. So, In my case, I didn't choose that stream even after getting it in a few colleges. Love, choices, and preferences can change over time and that is life!

Even in my experience, I see many people in India doing excellent in the IT field coming from a non-CS background. The examples are more vivid in tech influencers around the globe. Some had a psychology major or fashion for example in their undergrad. Though it's nice to have a CS/IT degree and then having a career in the software industry but that is one way of doing it. So if you are reading this, next time, if you come across someone who is a beginner in tech and not from a conventional background try not to ask such questions. There can be plenty of reasons and some of them can be personal too.

#WomenWhoTech